Lent begins March 1st

Lent, the penitential season of the Church year, begins on Ash Wednesday and lasts until Easter. It has six Sundays, the sixth of which is called Passion (Palm) Sunday and marks the beginning of Holy Week. Traditionally the Lent season is a time of sacrifice through the Universal Church. Fast and abstinence are to be observed on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday. All the Fridays of Lent are days of abstinence from meat. Lent is also a season in which prayer, the reception of the sacraments, charity and almsgiving are emphasized.


 1. Ash Wednesday (March 1, 2017) and Good Friday (April 14, 2017): Days of Fast and Abstinence. Limit of one full meal on these days for all between the age of 18 and 59 inclusive.

 2. Days of Abstinence - All Fridays Lent (March 3rd, 10th, 17th, 24th & 31st & April 7th, 2017): All who have reached their 14th year are bound to abstain totally from meat.

 3. Week Days of Lent: There is no obligation to fast. However, voluntary acts of self denial are recommended.

 4. Easter Duty Obligation: Holy Communion must be received during the Easter Season as specified by Diocesan Regulations.